On a windy spring day, I walked with my son. Tiny hand in mine, we made our way down the gravel lane. As we trudged along attempting to avoid the end of winter’s sharp bite, we talked of many things. He is never at a loss for words and he spoke of the things that little boys do..happy meals, puppies, and video games. 

I listened, enjoying the moment, the sound of his tiny voice and mispronounced words. I relished in the feel of his little hand in mine. I smiled despite the troubles the day had brought my way. Dark clouds swirled around in the back of my mind, but I was focused on the moment. 

He told me once he was walking and broke his leg. I laughed aloud! “No baby, you’ve never broken your leg.” His face quite serious, he said “Well, I almost did once.” I chuckled again. I think that means his legs are tired. The walk was short, but the memory is still miles long. Apparently his tiny legs thought so too.

As our destination came into view, he said something that I will never forget. “Momma,” he said. “This place is so nice!” It may not seem to be an important statement, but oh my how it was! 

We were visiting a neighbor that day. There living conditions would be called deplorable in the eyes of many. I never thought of it that way. Yes, I saw the many items that littered the lawn. I also saw the small delapidated structures that my friends called home. I saw the ceilings that were falling apart and the ply board covering worn places in the walls. I saw the items strewn around haphazardly and doors covered with blankets to keep out the cold. I saw the toppled over can that bore the label of a chocolatey sweet drink long forgotten. I saw many things, but I never saw as others did. Oh, I knew what they saw, but I saw a family struggling to survive. I saw people who laughed and cried silent tears no one saw.

What struck me most about the words that came from my son’s mouth, was that he saw the things I did. He saw friendly faces. He saw puppies playing and horses munching on their mid day snack of grass. He saw a little wood stove that piped out heat to warm the people inside and the tall trees that generously gave their limbs in a show of sacrificial love. 

My little guy was viewing the world through the eyes of Christ. He saw what others could not. He saw the gold waiting to be discovered in mines of dirty, blackened coal. He saw treasure waiting to be unearthed. This young man had more vision than most.

At that moment I was the proudest mom on earth. In spite of all my shortcomings, I had passed on something invaluable to my son. If no one knew my heart, in that moment he did, and that was enough for me.

Written by: Tiffany A. Jackson

Photography courtesy of: Robbie Osborne

